Blog: Be inspired! SME of the Year 2017 (Sponsored by CIOB)

05 January 2018

Winner: David Miller Architects

Just seven years ago, David Miller Architects was a microbusiness with only four employees. Today they have a thriving practice of twenty with a growing portfolio of their successes achieved.

Recognising that changes in market profile with large multidisciplinary organisations sweeping up all the work were a threat to their growth, David Miller Architects set out to disrupt the prevalent procurement ecosystem and find their way into larger, complex supply chains.

They identified the adoption of digital techniques as a major ‘disrupter’ and whilst change management is the biggest challenge to any organisation, as a small company they had the advantage for rapid and agile repositioning.

Through their approach, they are creating new opportunities to develop expertise; increasing efficiency in the delivery of built projects and unlocking a raft of client benefits. In addition, collaborative working practices are enabling other SME suppliers and supply chain partners to advance alongside and they are making strides to bring young people, women and under-represented groups into the construction sector.

Returning to sponsor the SME of the Year category is The Chartered Institute of Building (CIOB). They are at the heart of a management career in construction; the world’s largest and most influential professional body for construction management and leadership. They have a Royal Charter to promote the science and practice of building and construction for the benefit of society, and have been doing that since 1834. Their members work worldwide in the development, conservation and improvement of the built environment.

Registration is now open to enter this and all 15 categories here. Closing date for submitting entries is March 5th 2018.

Recent Blog Posts

People Development winner 2018
21 September 2018
Playle & Partners LLP
Read More

Integration & Collaborative Working winner 2018
17 September 2018
Design Consortium
Read More

Innovation Winner 2018
13 September 2018
Transport Infrastructure Efficiency - Benchmarking Framework
Read More